YELLOW PEAS

Peas (Pisum sativum) belong to the legume family (pulses) and have been part of human diet for centuries. These protein-rich seeds are characterised by their high protein content: 25% on average. Yellow peas have thus become indispensable over the past decades because of their essential nutrients content and their positive environmental impact.

Pea crops: a positive impact on the planet

 

No need for further evidence, the cultivation of vegetable raw materials has a lower environmental impact than animal husbandry: land use, energy or water consumption, etc. Legumes – including yellow peas – also have a unique ability to “fix” nitrogen (necessary for protein synthesis) from the air thanks to the symbiotic relationships with the nitrogen-fixing bacteria colonising the plant roots.

As a result, these crops use less fertilizer, which has an immediate positive impact on soil quality. In addition, during crop rotation, growing peas therefore drastically reduces the use of pesticides for subsequent crops. Lastly, the amount of water required for peas to grow to maturity is relatively low compared to other vegetable crops… In other words, not only are peas an ideal element of a healthy diet, they are also sustainable!

BENEFITS OF GROWING PEAS

  • Does not need irrigation
  • No use of fertiliser
  • Limited use of pesticide
  • Non-GMO crop

Peas: a more sustainable source of protein

 

Yellow peas are a preferred source of protein with an average 25% content in the seeds. The minimal impact of pea crops on the environment makes pea protein a particularly sustainable source of nutrients. See for yourself:

  • It takes at least 70 times less energy to produce 1 g of pea protein compared to producing 1 g of animal protein
  • The impact of producing 1 g of pea protein on greenhouse gas emissions is 500 times lower than that of producing 1 g of animal protein

COSUCRA is committed to sustainability

Sustainability is at the heart of COSUCRA’s philosophy, which is why we are committed to providing our customers with the best ingredients from yellow peas. For the most part, we act sustainably on three main levels: pea selection, transport and production process.

Sourced in Europe

Our peas are carefully selected through our crop collecting partners from France and the rest of Europe,  according to our own quality standards. Our agronomists are constantly in contact with crop suppliers to make sure that the selection and quality assurance process for yellow peas never falters. Our crop collecting partners are also members of the supply chain – a guarantee of high quality! 

Optimised transport

Since our plant is located close to the Scheldt river, most of our pea supplies are delivered by barge, which allows us to minimise road transport. River transport for our raw materials? A good way to reduce our carbon footprint. In fact, we have increased our supplies by waterways in recent years. Today, more than 80% of bulk supplies come by barge!

An efficient process

Unlike other types of plant-based protein, pea protein extraction does not require the use of organic solvents, such as hexane. Our manufacturing process is therefore solely based on the physical separation of the pea compounds. As a result, we are able to not only guarantee the nutritional value of the extracted protein, but also limit our environmental impact.

New investments to expand COSUCRA’s production capacity

Read this

choose your language

Consommé depuis des siècles, le pois (Pisum sativum) fait partie de la famille des légumineuses. Ces graines protéagineuses se caractérisent par leur grande richesse en protéines : 25 % en moyenne. Le pois jaune est ainsi devenu incontournable au fil des décennies, grâce à sa composition en nutriments essentiels et à son impact positif sur l’environnement.

Culture du pois : une empreinte positive sur la planète

 

Il n’est plus à prouver que la culture des matières premières végétales a un impact environnemental moins important que l’élevage : utilisation des sols, consommation d’énergie ou d’eau… Les légumineuses – dont le pois jaune – ont en outre une capacité unique à fixer l’azote (nécessaire à la synthèse protéique) de l’air grâce aux relations symbiotiques avec les microorganismes présents dans les racines des plantes.

Ces cultures utilisent donc moins de fertilisants, ce qui a un bénéfice direct sur la qualité des sols. De plus, lors de la rotation des cultures, cultiver le pois permet donc de réduire drastiquement l’ajout de pesticides pour les cultures suivantes. Enfin, la quantité d’eau requise pour une parfaite croissance des pois est relativement faible par rapport aux autres cultures végétales… Autrement dit, le pois est ingrédient idéal pour une alimentation saine, mais aussi durable !

BÉNÉFICES DE LA CULTURE DE POIS

  • Ne nécessite pas d’irrigation
  • Pas d’utilisation de fertilisant
  • Utilisation limitée de pesticides
  • Culture non-OGM

Pois : une source plus durable de protéines

 

Le pois jaune est une source privilégiée en protéines avec une moyenne de 25 % dans les graines. L’impact minimal des cultures de pois sur l’environnement fait de la protéine de pois une source en nutriments particulièrement durable. Voyez plutôt :

  • Produire 1 g de protéine de pois nécessite au moins 70 fois moins d’énergie que produire 1 g de protéine animale
  • Produire 1 g de protéine de pois impacte 500 fois moins la production de gaz à effet de serre que produire 1 g de protéine animale

COSUCRA s’engage pour la durabilité

La durabilité est au cœur de la philosophie de COSUCRA, c’est pour cela que nous nous engageons à offrir à nos clients le meilleur du pois jaune. Nous agissons principalement sur trois principaux points : la sélection des pois, le transport et le procédé de fabrication.

Une origine européenne

Nos pois sont soigneusement sélectionnés par nos partenaires collecteurs, en France et dans le reste de l'Europe, selon nos propres standards de qualité. Nos experts agronomiques communiquent en permanence avec les fournisseurs agricoles pour assurer la performance continue du procédé de sélection et de la qualité des pois jaunes. Nos partenaires collecteurs avec lesquels nous travaillons sont aussi adhérents à la filière – le gage d’une haute qualité !

Un transport optimisé

Implantés à proximité de l’Escaut, nous réceptionnons la plupart des pois que nous travaillons par péniche, en évitant au mieux le transport par camion. Le transport fluvial de nos matières premières ? Voilà un bon moyen de réduire notre empreinte carbone. Nous avons d’ailleurs augmenté nos approvisionnements par voie d’eau ces dernières années. Aujourd’hui, plus de 80 % des volumes sont approvisionnés par le transport fluvial.

Un procédé performant

Contrairement à d’autres types de protéines végétales, l’extraction des protéines de pois ne nécessite pas l’utilisation de solvant organique, comme l’hexane. Notre procédé de fabrication est donc uniquement basé sur de la séparation physique des composés du pois. Cela permet donc de garantir la valeur nutritionnelle des protéines, mais aussi de limiter l’impact environnemental.

Nouveaux investissements pour COSUCRA

Découvrez l'article

choose your language