Chicory root

Chicory (Cichorium intybus) is a locally grown crop that is at the core of local gastronomy. Well anchored in traditional diet, it was previously used as a coffee substitute. It can also be eaten in a salad or broiled and later drunk as an infusion.

Chicory root is the primary source of inulin, or chicory root fibre. For the most part, chicory root is composed of water, pulp and insoluble sugars. It contains about 16% inulin. Inulin extracted from chicory root is a soluble dietary fibre found in more than 36,000 fruits and plants such as bananas, garlic and wheat. However, the highest concentration of inulin can be found in chicory root. Naturally sourced, chicory root fibre can be used in food processing and has many beneficial effects on nutrition and health.

A success story

In 1986, COSUCRA pioneered a world first production process: the extraction of inulin from chicory root. A raw material that, in the early days, was a simple substitute to traditional sugar then became a much more widespread and versatile ingredient, used for its positive effects on nutrition and health. This root has thus become both an exceptional and a prized ingredient in food production! Today, COSUCRA offers the benefits of chicory root all over the world. In fact, it can be found in many food products marketed worldwide.

A gentle water extraction process

Inulin is extracted from chicory root through a gentle hot water diffusion process, similar to the process used to extract sugar from beets. The first step consists in obtaining a liquid concentrate from the chicory root. This juice will then be refined into fibre in liquid or powder form.

And then there was CHICOLINE

Very early on, COSUCRA understood the importance of growing different varieties suitable for the production of chicory root fibre. This is why, in the late 1980s, COSUCRA decided to set up its CHICOLINE division, dedicated to the selection of the best varieties of chicory in order to meet the sector’s varying needs.


The mission of CHICOLINE? Select the right chicory seeds quality based on the sector. Having become the world leader in chicory seeds, CHICOLINE offers an extensive selection as well as a full range of varieties and innovative solutions that meet the needs of both growers and the sector. Thanks to innovative, responsible and sustainable practices, CHICOLINE is now selecting the chicory varieties of tomorrow.

New investments to expand COSUCRA’s production capacity

Read this

choose your language

La chicorée (Cichorium intybus) est une plante cultivée localement qui occupe une place centrale dans la gastronomie locale. Elle est traditionnellement bien connue, puisqu’elle était auparavant utilisée comme un succédané de café. Elle est également consommée en salade ou grillée pour être bue sous forme d’infusion.

La racine de chicorée est la première source d’inuline, ou fibre de racine de chicorée. La racine de chicorée est majoritairement composée d’eau, de pulpe et de sucres insolubles. Elle contient environ 16 % d’inuline. L’inuline issue de la racine de chicorée est une fibre alimentaire soluble présente dans plus de 36 000 fruits et végétaux tels que la banane, l’ail et le blé. C’est toutefois dans la chicorée qu’on en trouve la plus forte concentration. Naturelle, la fibre de racine de chicorée peut être utilisée dans la fabrication alimentaire et possède de nombreux effets bénéfiques sur la nutrition et la santé.

L’histoire d’un succès

En 1986, COSUCRA développe un processus inédit dans le monde : l’extraction de l’inuline issue de la racine de chicorée. Ce qui constituait dans les premières années un simple substitut du sucre classique devient alors un ingrédient bien plus répandu et polyvalent, utilisé pour ses effets positifs sur la nutrition et la santé. Cette racine est ainsi devenue un ingrédient aussi unique que prisé dans la production alimentaire ! Aujourd’hui, COSUCRA offre les bienfaits de la racine de chicorée dans le monde entier, on la retrouve d’ailleurs dans de nombreux produits alimentaires vendus sur le marché international.

Un procédé d’extraction douce à l’eau

L’inuline est extraite de la racine de chicorée via un processus doux à l’eau chaude, semblable au processus utilisé pour la production de betterave sucrière. La première étape consiste à obtenir une concentration liquide à partir de la racine de chicorée. Celle-ci sera ensuite raffinée en fibre sous forme de liquide ou de poudre

Et puis CHICOLINE

Très tôt, COSUCRA a compris l’importance de développer différentes variétés adaptées à la production de fibre de racine de chicorée. C’est pour cette raison que COSUCRA a décidé, à la fin des années 1980, de créer sa division CHICOLINE, dédiée à la sélection des meilleures variétés de chicorée qui répondront aux différents besoins du secteur.


La mission de CHICOLINE ? Sélectionner la bonne qualité de graines de chicorée selon le secteur. Devenue leader mondial des graines de chicorée, CHICOLINE propose une large gamme ainsi qu’une offre complète de variétés et de solutions innovantes qui répondent aux besoins des cultivateurs et du secteur. Grâce à des pratiques innovantes, responsables et durables, CHICOLINE sélectionne aujourd’hui les variétés de chicorée de demain.

Nouveaux investissements pour COSUCRA

Découvrez l'article

choose your language