Diabetes, obesity… there are still a lot of consumers who suffer from the health complications resulting from poor nutrition. Therefore the World Health Organisation (WHO) has stated that consumers need specific, standardised, and full information about the contents of goods so that they can make clear healthy choices.

Different regional front-of-pack (FOP) and back-of-pack (BOP) initiatives already exist around the world like Nutriscore in EU, Warning Labels in South-American countries, Healthier Choice Labels, and the interactive logos in certain Asian countries.

Today, consumers find nutritional information by scanning the bar codes on the packaging and by using applications that analyse food products on their smartphone.

This behaviour strongly affects industry players in producing food products with a balanced nutritional profile to help consumers manage their consumption of sugar, fat, fibre, and protein.

We at COSUCRA are aware of the role we must play! FIBRULINE™ chicory root fibre and PISANE™ pea protein play a crucial and positive role in the nutritional values and are key to rebalance the nutritional profile.

 

Fibre fortification

Most of us are stuck in the fibre gap and we need to find nutritional ways to climb out of it. The definition of this fibre gap is the difference between how much fibre we need and how much we consume. The recommended daily intake of fibre is 25 to 30 g with a third being soluble fibres (*).

(* depending on local regulation)

FIBRULINE™ is best in class! Generally composed of 90% dietary fibres, the FIBRULINE™ range is strongly recommended for fibre enrichment.

 

Protein supplementation

Consumer awareness has led to the proliferation of new nutrition behaviours favouring vegetarian products supplemented with proteins or gluten-free foods. Due to their high protein content and their unique functionalities, the different PISANE™ pea protein references meet the requirements of these different types of consumer products: organoleptic qualities (sensory experience) ensuring excellent taste and texture, with improved nutrient profile however. PISANE™ C9, for example, helps meet the challenge of creating an exquisite vegetable drink, with a texture as smooth as milk and a more balanced composition!

Discover our pea protein PISANE™ range

 

DID YOU KNOW?

The number of new food products displaying a high protein content increased by 62% over the last five years.

 

Sugar reduction

Sugar is a source of energy, but most diets contain too much of it. Excessive consumption of sugar can result in overweight, diabetes, or tooth caries. Some people even suffer from a sugar addiction!

FIBRULINE™ chicory root fibre is an ideal ingredient to replace sugar thanks to its 2 kcal/gram rather than the 4 kcal/gram of classic sugar. Each FIBRULINE™ has its own benefit in sugar reduction:

FIBRULINE™ Instant : all-round easy to use powder for sugar replacement

FIBRULINE™ S30 : when higher solubility is needed in sugar reduction

FIBRULOSE™ F97 : recommended for strong sugar replacement

FIBRULOSE™ LCF : easy-to-use liquid solution

 

 

 

Fat mimetic

 

Fats are necessary but they are the single most calorie rich component of food and should be used sparingly to avoid overweight and obesity. Fats have 9 kcal/gram so replacing fats can significantly reduce additional intake of fat as well as calories.

By using FIBRULINE™, for example! Long chain chicory root (DP > 20) such as FIBRULINE™ XL influences the texture. A gel structure can be installed between water and chicory root fibre to improve the mouthfeel and to realize a fat-like or fat mimetic effect.

 

 

Downloads

COSUCRA Board appoints Eric Bosly as new CEO

Read this

choose your language

Rééquilibrer le profil nutritionnel des produits alimentaires

Diabète, obésité… De nombreux consommateurs subissent encore des complications liées à la consommation d’aliments mauvais pour la santé. C’est pourquoi l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) a établi que les consommateurs avaient besoin d’informations précises, normées et compréhensibles concernant la teneur des aliments afin de faire un choix sain et éclairé.
Il existe à l’échelle mondiale de nombreuses initiatives d’étiquetage à l’avant ou à l’arrière de l’emballage : le Nutriscore en Europe, les « Warning labels » dans certains pays d’Amérique du Sud, ou encore les étiquettes « Healthier Choice Labels » et les logos interactifs dans certains pays d’Asie.

Aujourd’hui, les consommateurs réclament davantage d’informations nutritionnelles en scannant les codes barres sur les emballages et en utilisant des applications d’analyse des produits alimentaires sur leur smartphone.

Un comportement qui incite fortement les industriels à produire des produits alimentaires avec un profil nutritionnel équilibré, pour aider les consommateurs à gérer leur consommation en sucre, matière grasse, fibre ou encore protéine.

Chez COSUCRA, nous sommes bien conscients du rôle que nous avons à jouer ! La fibre de racine de chicorée FIBRULINE™ et la protéine de pois PISANE™ jouent un rôle crucial et positif dans les valeurs nutritionnelles affichées et sont une des clés du rééquilibrage du profil nutritionnel.

 

Enrichissement en fibres

La plupart des êtres humains sont loin de consommer suffisamment de fibres au quotidien, c’est pourquoi nous devons trouver des moyens diététiques d’y parvenir. Cette carence en fibre désigne la différence entre la quantité de fibres nécessaires à notre corps pour fonctionner correctement et la quantité que nous ingérons réellement chaque jour. La dose journalière recommandée de fibres est de 25 à 30 g, dont 1/3 de fibres solubles (*).

FIBRULINE™ en est une ! Composée généralement à 90 % de fibres alimentaires, la gamme FIBRULINE™ est fortement recommandée pour l’enrichissement en fibres.

 

Enrichissement en protéines

La prise de conscience des consommateurs voit se multiplier les nouveaux modes de consommation privilégiant des produits végétariens enrichis en protéines ou des aliments sans gluten. Grâce à leur haute teneur en protéines et leurs fonctionnalités uniques, les différentes références de protéine de pois PISANE™ répondent aux exigences de ces différents types de produits de grande consommation : des qualités organoleptiques qui maintiennent une excellente expérience en bouche, mais avec un profil nutritionnel amélioré. PISANE™ C9, par exemple, relève le défi d’une boisson végétale au goût irréprochable, à la texture aussi fluide que du lait et à la composition plus équilibrée !

 

LE SAVIEZ-VOUS ?

Le nombre de nouveaux produits alimentaires mentionnant une haute teneur en protéines a augmenté de 62 % sur les cinq dernières années.

 

Moins de sucre

Si le sucre est une source d’énergie, il est tout de même présent en excès dans la plupart des régimes alimentaires. Une consommation excessive de sucre peut favoriser la prise de poids, le diabète ou la formation de caries dentaires. Certains individus vont même jusqu’à développer une dépendance au sucre !

La fibre de racine de chicorée FIBRULINE™ est un ingrédient idéal pour remplacer le sucre grâce à ses 2 kcal/gramme au lieu des 4 kcal/gramme dans le sucre classique. Et à chaque utilisation, son produit :

FIBRULINE™ Instant : substitut de sucre en poudre facile à utiliser et polyvalent

FIBRULINE™ S30 : lorsqu’une solubilité plus élevée est nécessaire pour la diminution du sucre

FIBRULOSE™ F97 : recommandée en substitut de fortes quantités de sucre

FIBRULOSE™ LCF : solution liquide facile d’emploi

 

 

 

Substitut de graisse

 

Bien que vitales, les graisses constituent l’aliment le plus riche en calories de l’alimentation humaine et doivent être consommées avec modération pour éviter le surpoids et l’obésité. Les graisses comportent 9 kcal/gramme, il est donc possible de réduire significativement l’apport gras et calorique en remplaçant les graisses.

Par FIBRULINE™, par exemple ! La racine de chicorée en chaîne longue (DP > 20) telle que FIBRULINE™ XL influence tout particulièrement la texture. Il est donc possible d’obtenir une texture gel en mélangeant eau et chicorée afin d’améliorer la texture en bouche et d’obtenir un substitut de graisse satisfaisant.

choose your language