The nutrition-health market is very large and offers numerous solutions. The things you look for to proactively improve your well-being or if you are ill, there is a large choice of products available to you.
COSUCRA ‘s PISANE™ pea protein and FIBRULINE™ chicory root fibre combine nutritional benefits and low environmental impact resulting in unique and sustainable nutritional-health products.

 

DIGESTIVE HEALTH

Metabolism of chicory fructans

FIBRULINE™ chicory root fibres are dietary fibres that are not hydrolyzed, digested, absorbed or excreted through the gastro-intestinal tract. In that way they are 100% fermented in the colon. The large intestine is often unjustly be seen as a forgotten organ, because many important metabolic actions take place, mainly saccharolytic fermentation for carbohydrates in the ascending colon and proteolytic fermentation for proteins in the descending colon. The microbiota or living organisms inside the gut or microbiome have an impact on the metabolism, immune system, and hormone excretion. In the large intestine, the colonic microflora is responsible for fermentation of the chicory root fibre to 10% CO2, H2 and CH4, 40% bacterial biomass and 50% SCFA’s (short chain fatty acids). These SCFA’s, named propionate, acetate and butyrate (among others) may play a role in many health issues as they give fuel to colon cells, lowering blood cholesterol and possibly protect against colon cancer.

 

Gut Health and gut microbiota

The gut microbiota is the community of micro-organisms that are present in the gut. These microbiota are of raising interest for markets and consumers as there is a lot of scientific evidence for the link between microbiota and health. Gut microbiota are partially influenced by a heritage component but larger determinants are environmental factors like medications, location and diet. In fact, diet is the crucial contributor to maintain a balanced gut microbiota. In addition to the metabolic role, the gut microbiota also function as:

  • barrier: shield against pathogens and production of protective mucus;
  • defense: development of the intestinal immune system;
  • maintenance: maturation of GI tract, maintenance of intestinal mucosa.

In case of an unbalanced microbiota between good and pathogen micro-organisms (also called dysbiosis), inflammatory conditions will appear and lead to the development of chronic diseases. A western diet, for example, too high in sugar and fat, will lead to many unfavourable health conditions.

 

 

Probiotics, prebiotics, and synbiotics

Probiotics are live strains of strictly selected microorganisms which confer a health benefit when consumed or applied to the body. Probiotics need a substrate to grow. We call these substrates prebiotics and they are as important for the health and balance of the microbiome as probiotics.

Chicory root fibers like FIBRULINE™ are not digested in the small intestine and reach the colon intact where they are totally, and selectively, fermented by intestinal microflora (Bifidobacteria and Lactobacilli) and confer a health benefit to the host. Hence chicory root fibres meet the scientifically recognized definition of “prebiotic”.

They have following different functions:

  • Stimulation of beneficial bacteria growth;
  • Stimulation of the bacteria activity and SCFAs production;
  • Improve host health.

 

DID YOU KNOW?

A daily dose of 5 g of FIBRULINE™ has a prebiotic effect supported by scientific data!

 

Digestive health and tolerance

FIBRULINE™ chicory root fibre as a soluble dietary fibre has shown benefits in stool frequency, stool consistency and reduced constipation. This can be of interest for constipated persons, elderly, women or babies. With a recommended daily dose of 10 g of soluble fibre per day, FIBRULINE™ chicory root fibre is accepted as a well-tolerated prebiotic for adults.

 

 

VEGETARIANS & VEGANS

Whether it is to save the planet, protect animals, care for their own health… these and many more reasons are driving more and more consumers to turn to flexitarian, vegetarian or vegan diets. However, reducing or even eliminating animal proteins from one’s diet does have an impact on the daily nutrient intake. This is why manufacturers are taking a fresh approach to meeting nutritional requirements through food products, be it mainstream or specific products.

With PISANE™ pea protein, you offer consumers a vegetable protein with a high nutritional value, an alternative source of protein that is plant-based, more sustainable, and products that are tasty thanks to its functional properties, but also good for the planet and health because of the way it is sourced!

A HIGH-QUALITY PROTEIN

 

  • AAS = 0.96
  • PDCAAS = 0.94
  • Very high digestibility: 98% of PISANE™ proteins are absorbed into our body
  • Contains very low levels of anti-nutritional factors

A SUSTAINABLE PROTEIN

 

    Pea proteins are among the most sustainable plant proteins: “clean” cultivation, optimal use of natural resources and many other benefits for the planet!

 

 

WEIGHT MANAGEMENT

We can choose from the many diets trending at the moment to reduce or manage our weight: low-calorie and low-fat diet, low glycaemic index (GI) diet, ketogenic diet, to name but a few. However, in order to select the right diet for our needs, we first need to understand what managing our weight means! No lack of challenges: we need to maintain muscle mass, reduce calorie intake, manage the feeling of hunger…
Thanks to their nutritional properties, FIBRULINE™ chicory root fibre and PISANE™ pea protein play major roles in weight management, without compromising on pleasure!

 

 

Blood glucose management

Since they are not digestible, chicory root fructans do not affect blood glucose levels after meals or the response to insulin. They are therefore an ideal ingredient in the prevention of diabetes, which is more and more prevalent in the world population.

FIBRULINE™, chicory root fibre, can be used as a healthy substitute for digestible carbohydrates (including free sugars) in foods formulated to help prevent blood sugar (glucose) disorders in sufferers.

When at least 30% of the sugars are replaced by non-fermentable target carbohydrates, such as chicory root fibre, “consumption of foods/drinks containing inulin or oligofructose instead of sugars induces a lower blood glucose rise after their consumption compared to sugar-containing foods/drinks,” as explained by the EFSA (European Food Safety Authority).

 

Pea protein and weight management

PISANE™ pea protein has a particularly high nutritional value and plays a major role in weight management: indeed, proteins are involved in managing the feeling of hunger, in improving blood glucose control and in maintaining muscle mass.

NUTRITIONAL COMPOSITION

 

  • High protein content (86% protein in dry matter)
  • High levels of branched chain amino acids (which play a key role in controlling blood glucose levels during a diet)
  • Very high levels of leucine (an essential amino acid involved in maintaining muscle mass during weight loss)

DIGESTIBILITY

 

  • High digestibility: 98% of the proteins contained in PISANE™ will be absorbed into the metabolism!
  • With a protein absorption rate that is slower than for certain animal proteins, it delays gastric emptying and decreases the feeling of hunger (increased satiety).

 

 

Excess weight and obesity

Fats provide the body with 9 kcal/gramme, making it the food component with the highest energy content. Although vital, fats are the foods with the highest amount of calories and should therefore be consumed in moderation to prevent excess weight and obesity. There is a strong correlation between heart disease and arteriosclerosis and the intake of trans fatty acids and saturated fatty acids.

Limiting the intake of saturated and trans fatty acids can contribute to better health when replaced with appropriate nutrients such as FIBRULINE™ chicory root fibre, rather than refined carbohydrates.

 

DID YOU KNOW?

A report published by the WHO states that the number of obese people worldwide has tripled since 1975!

 

SPORTS NUTRITION

Proteins play an essential role in the nutrition of athletes. And it’s not just a question of quantity: the nutritional quality of the proteins is paramount. Why do you need to consume more protein before, during or after you practice a sport? Muscle protein synthesis, muscle mass gains or to facilitate recovery after training… Plenty of reasons to ingest protein, also determined by the time of the food intake.

NUTRITIONAL COMPOSITION

 

  • A balanced composition of essential amino acids with particularly high levels of branched chain amino acids
  • Very high iron content (>170 μg/g protein)
  • Very high arginine content (> 8.5% in PISANE™), an amino acid involved in the muscle recovery process
  • Very low levels of anti-nutritional factors thanks to a unique extraction process

DIGESTIBILITY

 

  • High digestibility: 98% of the proteins contained in PISANE™ will be absorbed into the metabolism!
  • The combination of whey protein and pea protein provides an optimal protein digestibility profile for prolonged amino acid uptake

 

DID YOU KNOW?

Consuming 1 to 2 g of protein per kg of body weight every day is recommended when practicing sports (the amount will depend on the type of sport).

 

 

SENIOR NUTRITION

As we age, our bodies change and so do our dietary needs. This is why, at COSUCRA, we focus especially on offering the best of chicory root and pea protein for products used in senior nutrition. Among the challenges: prevention of sarcopenia, effect on the risks of osteoporosis, weight management, and many more.

 

 

Food enjoyment AND nutrition for seniors, is that possible?

Thanks to its high nutritional value, PISANE™ pea protein has proven to be a great success in the formulation of products for seniors. In particular, with its high leucine content (~ 8% in pea protein), PISANE™ helps maintain muscle mass in older populations. Indeed, sarcopenia (loss of skeletal muscle mass) is more prevalent with ageing.

The high digestibility of PISANE™ (~ 98%) is a great asset for this type of product. Finally, because of its unique functional properties, PISANE™ can be used to formulate any type of product supplemented with protein – from ready-to-drink beverages to soups, including desserts.

 

Seniors and bone health

It has been scientifically proven that FIBRULINE™ chicory root fibre stimulates calcium absorption and retention, as well as bone mineralisation in humans. Complementing these fibres, the PISANE™ pea protein has a particularly high lysine and arginine content – two amino acids involved in the maintenance of bone density.

 

COSUCRA Board appoints Eric Bosly as new CEO

Read this

choose your language

NUTRITION-SANTÉ

Le marché de la nutrition-santé est un marché très vaste qui apporte de nombreuses solutions. Que vous cherchiez proactivement à améliorer votre bien-être ou que vous ayez une pathologie, il existe un large choix de produits à votre disposition.

La protéine de pois PISANE™ et la fibre de racine de chicorée FIBRULINE™ de COSUCRA allient bénéfices nutritionnels et faible impact environnemental, pour un résultat unique et durable dans les produits de nutrition-santé.

 

SANTÉ DIGESTIVE

Métabolisme des fibres de racine de chicorée

Les fibres alimentaires FIBRULINE™ ne sont ni hydrolysées, ni digérées, ni absorbées, ni rejetées par le système digestif. Elles sont donc fermentées à 100 % dans le côlon. Le gros intestin est souvent, et à tort, un organe négligé. De nombreuses actions métaboliques importantes s’y déroulent, principalement la fermentation saccharolytique des glucides dans le côlon ascendant et la fermentation protéolytique des protéines dans le côlon descendant. Le microbiote, c’est-à-dire les organismes vivant à l’intérieur des intestins ou encore le microbiome (soit l’ensemble des génomes des micro-organismes dans un environnement précis),femmes ont une influence sur le métabolisme, le système immunitaire et la sécrétion hormonale. Dans le gros intestin, la microflore intestinale est responsable de la fermentation de la fibre de chicorée à hauteur de 10 % de CO2, H2 et CH4, 40 % de la biomasse bactérienne et 50 % des acides gras volatils. Ces acides gras volatils, appelés entre autres propionate, acétate et butyrate, peuvent jouer un rôle positif dans de nombreuses maladies. Ils alimentent en effet les cellules du côlon en carburant par l’abaissement du taux de cholestérol dans le sang et par une éventuelle protection du côlon contre le cancer.

 

 

Santé de l’intestin et microbiote

Le microbiote intestinal est l’ensemble des micro-organismes présents dans le système digestif. Il attire l’attention croissante des marchés et consommateurs en raison des nombreuses preuves scientifiques qui établissent un lien entre microbiote et santé. Le microbiote intestinal est en partie influencé par la génétique, mais il existe des facteurs plus importants tels que les médicaments, le lieu de vie et le régime alimentaire. De fait, le régime alimentaire contribue de manière cruciale à l’équilibre du microbiote intestinal. Outre son rôle métabolique, le microbiote intestinal joue également plusieurs rôles :

  • barrière : contre les pathogènes et production du mucus protecteur ;
  • défense : développement d’un système immunitaire digestif ;
  • préservation : maturation du tube digestif, entretien de la barrière muqueuse intestinale.

Lorsque le microbiote souffre d’un déséquilibre entre micro-organismes bons et pathogènes (phénomène qu’on appelle aussi « dysbiose »), des inflammations se déclarent et peuvent conduire au développement de maladies chroniques. Un régime occidental, par exemple, souvent trop riche en sucres et en graisses, pourra mener à de nombreux troubles de la santé.

 

Prébiotique, probiotique et symbiotique

Les probiotiques sont des organismes vivants qui ont un effet positif sur la santé lorsqu’ils sont consommés ou utilisés sur le corps. La croissance des probiotiques nécessite par contre un substrat. Ces substrats alimentaires sont aussi importants pour la santé et l’équilibre du microbiome que les probiotiques eux-mêmes.

La digestion de la fibre de racine de chicorée FIBRULINE™ ne se déroule pas dans l’intestin grêle. Les fibres parviennent donc intactes dans le côlon, où elles sont totalement et sélectivement fermentées par la microflore intestinale (bifidobacteria and Lactobacilli), et où elles sont bénéfiques pour la santé du consommateur. C’est grâce à cette action que les fibres de chicorée répondent à la définition scientifique de « prébiotique ».

Les fibres possèdent les fonctions suivantes :

  • Stimulation de la croissance des bactéries bénéfiques ;
  • Stimulation de l’activité bactérienne et de la production d’acides gras volatils ;
  • Amélioration de la santé de l’hôte.

 

LE SAVIEZ-VOUS ?

Une dose journalière de 5 g de FIBRULINE™ a un effet prébiotique appuyé par des données scientifiques !

 

Santé et tolérance digestive

La fibre de racine de chicorée FIBRULINE™ a démontré des effets bénéfiques dans la fréquence et la consistance des selles, ainsi que dans la réduction de la constipation. Des effets très intéressants pour les personnes souffrant de constipation, les personnes âgées, les femmes enceintes ou les bébés.À A la dose journalière recommandée en fibres solubles de 10g par jour, FIBRULINE est une fibre soluble prébiotique bien assimilée et tolérée chez les adultes.

 

 

VÉGÉTARIENS & VEGANS

Protéger la planète, protéger les animaux, protéger sa propre santé… Tant de raisons qui poussent de plus en plus de consommateurs à se tourner vers des régimes alimentaires fléxitariens, végétariens ou vegans. Réduire ou même supprimer les protéines animales du régime alimentaire a néanmoins quelques conséquences sur les apports nutritionnels quotidiens. C’est pour cela que les industriels portent un œil nouveau sur les besoins nutritionnels au travers des produits alimentaires – de grande consommation ou spécifiques.

Avec la protéine de pois PISANE™, vous offrez aux consommateurs une protéine végétale d’une grande qualité nutritionnelle, une autre source de protéine, végétale, plus durable et des produits bons pour les papilles grâce à ses propriétés fonctionnelles, mais aussi bons pour la planète et la santé grâce à ses origines !

UNE PROTÉINE DE QUALITÉ

 

  • AAS = 0.96
  • PDCAAS = 0.94
  • Une très haute digestibilité : 98 % des protéines PISANE™ sont mobilisées par notre corps
  • Une teneur très faible en facteurs anti-nutritionnels

UNE PROTÉINE DURABLE

 

  • Les protéines de pois sont parmi les protéines végétales les plus durables : culture « propre », utilisation optimale des ressources naturelles et bien d’autres bienfaits pour la planète !

 

GESTION DU POIDS

Il existe à l’heure actuelle un grand nombre de régimes alimentaires pour maintenir ou pour contrôler son poids : régime faible en calorie et en matière grasse, régime avec un indice glycémique faible, régime cétogène et bien d’autres. Mais pour bien choisir le régime alimentaire approprié à nos besoins, il faut bien comprendre ce que gérer son poids signifie ! Les défis sont nombreux : maintenir la masse musculaire, réduire l’apport calorique, gérer la sensation de faim…
Grâce à leurs propriétés nutritionnelles, la fibre de racine de chicorée FIBRULINE™ et la protéine de pois PISANE™ ont des rôles majeurs dans la gestion du poids, sans pécher sur le plaisir !

 

Contrôle de la glycémie

Puisqu’ils ne sont pas digestibles, les fructanes de chicorée n’altèrent ni le taux de glycémie après le repas, ni la réponse à l’insuline. Leur utilisation est idéale dans la prévention du diabète, de plus en plus répandue au sein de la population mondiale.

FIBRULINE™ , fibre de racine de chicorée, peut être utilisée comme substitut sain des glucides digestibles (y compris les sucres libres) dans les aliments destinés à prévenir les troubles de la glycémie chez les personnes qui en souffrent.

Lorsqu’au moins 30 % des sucres sont remplacés par des glucides non fermentescibles, comme la fibre de racine de chicorée, « la consommation d’aliments et de boissons contenant de l’inuline ou de l’oligofructose permet de réduire l’augmentation de la glycémie par rapport à celle d’aliments et de boissons contenant du sucre », comme l’explique l’EFSA (Autorité européenne de sécurité des aliments).

 

Protéines de pois et gestion du poids

La protéine de pois PISANE™ présente une densité nutritionnelle particulièrement intéressante et joue un rôle très important dans la gestion du poids : les protéines sont en effet impliquées dans la gestion de la sensation de faim, dans l’amélioration du contrôle de la glycémie ou encore le maintien de la masse musculaire.

COMPOSITION NUTRITIONNELLE

 

  •  Haute teneur en protéines (86 % protéines sur matière sèche)
  • Riche en acides aminés branchés (qui ont un rôle important dans le contrôle de glycémie pendant un régime)
  • Très riche en leucine (un acide aminé essentiel impliqué dans le maintien de la masse musculaire pendant la perte de poids)

DIGESTIBILITÉ

 

  • Haute digestibilité : 98 % des protéines contenues dans PISANE™ seront mobilisées par le métabolisme !
  • Une vitesse d’assimilation des protéines inférieure à certaines protéines animales qui permet une vidange gastrique plus lente et qui diminue la sensation de faim

 

 

Surpoids et obésité

Les graisses fournissent 9 kcal/gramme au corps, ce qui en fait le composant alimentaire le plus riche en énergie. Bien que vitales, les graisses constituent l’aliment le plus riche en calories et doivent donc être consommées avec modération pour éviter le surpoids et l’obésité. Les maladies cardiaques et l’artériosclérose sont fortement associées à l’ingestion d’acides gras trans et d’acides gras saturés.

La limitation de l’apport en acides gras saturés et trans peut contribuer à une meilleure santé lorsqu’ils sont remplacés par des nutriments appropriés tels que la fibre de racine de chicorée FIBRULINE™, plutôt que par des glucides raffinés.

 

LE SAVIEZ-VOUS ?

Un rapport de l’organisation WHO mentionne que le nombre de personnes obèses à travers le monde a triplé depuis 1975 !

 

NUTRITION SPORTIVE

Les protéines jouent un rôle essentiel dans la nutrition des sportifs. Et ce n’est pas qu’une question de quantité, mais bien de qualité nutritionnelle des protéines. Pourquoi faut-il consommer une quantité supérieure de protéines avant, pendant ou après une activité sportive ? Synthèse de la masse musculaire, préservation de la masse musculaire ou encore favoriser la récupération après l’entraînement… Les raisons ne manquent pas et dépendent du moment de la prise alimentaire.

COMPOSITION NUTRITIONNELLE

 

  • Une composition en acides aminés essentiels équilibrée et particulièrement riche en acides aminés branchés
  • Très haute teneur en fer (>170 μg / g protéine)
  • Très riche en arginine (> 8.5 % dans PISANE™), un acide aminé impliqué dans le mécanisme de récupération musculaire
  • Très faible teneur en facteurs anti-nutritionnels grâce à un procédé d’extraction unique

DIGESTIBILITE

 

  • Haute digestibilité : 98 % des protéines contenues dans PISANE™ seront mobilisées par le métabolisme
  • La combinaison des protéines sériques et des protéines de pois offre un profil de digestibilité protéique optimal pour une assimilation des acides aminés prolongée

 

LE SAVIEZ-VOUS ?

Il est recommandé de consommer chaque jour 1 à 2 g de protéines par kg de poids corporel lorsque l’on pratique une activité sportive (la quantité dépendant du type d’activité).

 

NUTRITION DES SENIORS

En vieillissant, notre corps change et nos besoins nutritionnels évoluent. C’est pourquoi, chez COSUCRA, nous portons une attention toute particulière à offrir le meilleur de la racine de chicorée et de la protéine de pois pour les produits dédiés à la nutrition des seniors. Au programme, prévention de la sarcopénie, action sur les risques d’ostéoporose, contrôle du poids…

Comment allier plaisir et nutrition pour les seniors ?

Grâce à ses qualités nutritionnelles, la protéine de pois PISANE™ s’est révélée un grand succès dans la formulation des produits pour seniors. Particulièrement riche en leucine (~8 % dans les protéines de pois), PISANE™ contribue à maintenir la masse musculaire chez les populations âgées. En effet, la sarcopénie (perte de masse musculaire) est particulièrement observée au cours du vieillissement.

La haute digestibilité de PISANE™ (~98 %) est tout particulièrement intéressante pour ce type de produits. Enfin, les propriétés fonctionnelles uniques de PISANE™ permettent de formuler tout type de produits enrichis en protéines – des boissons prête-à-boire aux soupes, en passant par les desserts.

 

Seniors et santé osseuse

Des preuves scientifiques ont démontré que la fibre de racine de chicorée FIBRULINE™ stimule l’absorption et la rétention de calcium, ainsi que la minéralisation osseuse chez l’humain. En complément de ces fibres, la protéine de pois PISANE™ est particulièrement riche en lysine et arginine – deux acides aminés impliqués dans le maintien de la masse osseuse.

 

choose your language