Whether for vegetarian sectors, for side dishes, or yet again for meat products, the innovations do not lack savoury applications. Consumer trends and needs are continuously shifting or adapting; therefore, these changes bring new challenges to the industry players. However, there is good news: our range of COSUCRA ingredients meets most of these challenges, as diverse as they could be!

 

Processed meat market

A declining market?

Increasingly better informed and conscious of numerous food, environmental, and health crises, it seems that recent years and their consequences have seen consumers slowly change their preferences and food habits. Environmental impact, health issues etc… The processed meat market is also under pressure from because of the mindset changes.

 

all of the groups affected

What would American meat lovers do in order to protect the planet:

  • 61% reduced their meat consumption;
  • 43% replaced meat-based proteins with plant-based alternatives;
  • 22% became vegetarians.


*% of American consumers are ready to change their habits for environmental reasons.

 

 

By reading these analyses, we may believe that the processed meat market is declining and no longer presents any potential. However, the world’s population never ceases to grow. More and more people have and will have access to meat, which has not always been the case until now. Obviously, the sector is no longer as dynamic as other savoury applications, but keeps asignificant presence on the food market.

 

TRENDS IN THE MEAT MARKET

Because the meat market continues to respond to consumer expectations, it is important to follow current trends that feature savoury applications:

Products for children

The new generation of parents is very careful about the composition of children’s diet. They look for a balance between food, health, and play fullness. Children are sensitive to savoury applications having particular shapes, for example, those of their favourite heroes.

In order to guarantee a playful shape during the process and the cooking of meat products, industry players can turn to functional solutions like SWELITE™ C.


Fat reduction

This trend in savoury applications is probably the most important one. Demand is there but the offer remains small. Criticized for its saturated fats content, the meat category must change this negative image and offer more fat reduced alternatives. fat reduction in processed meat products? This is possible thanks to the addition of FIBRULINE™ XL chicory root fibre. This long chain fibre creates a gel on contact with water, which provides a fatty mouthfeel. In reducing the amount of fatty materials in a recipe and by adding this chicory root fibre, the sensation and the nutritional profile of this savoury application is also rebalanced. Objective achieved!

 

ALTERNATIVES TO ANIMAL PROTEINS

This is undoubtedly a booming market. From the United States to Asian countries, consumers around the world are familiar with – and always looking for more – alternatives to meat, fish and eggs.

Originally very limited, the range of animal protein substitutes has diversified at all kinds of levels: taste, texture, presentation, chilled or frozen, etc. At COSUCRA, all of our ingredients extracted from peas and chicory roots have a key role to play in allowing consumers to really enjoy their food choices with this new generation of products!

 

DID YOU KNOW?

By 2040, the global market of alternatives to meat is expected to account for around 60% of the global savoury market.


A GREAT TASTING PRODUCT!

Texture, one of the main challenges for alternatives to meat or fish products. For a part of the market, consumers expect it to mimic the texture of meat and deliver the same sensation as when biting into a burger or nuggets: juiciness, chewiness, elasticity, melting in mouth effect, and so on.


PISANE™ pea protein, SWELITE™ pea fibre and NASTAR™ pea starch are the ideal solutions to meet these daunting challenges. With these ingredients, you can create products with a high level of organoleptic quality... In other words, products that are just as satisfying!


A PRODUCT GOOD FOR THE PLANET

As citizens, sustainability has become our main concern and remains one of the key factors in converting to flexitarism and vegetarianism. These new types of consumers are very well informed about agricultural practices, the benefits of plant proteins, the composition of products on the shelves, etc.


Our ingredients extracted from peas and chicory roots tick all the boxes: impact on climate, animal welfare, use of our natural resources or even healthy diet... At COSUCRA, finding solutions to each of these concerns is important to us!


DID YOU KNOW?

We use about nine times less primary energy to produce 1 kg of pea protein than what is required to produce 1 kg of animal protein (beef). Great news, isn’t it?


A PRODUCT GOOD FOR HEALTH

Too much saturated fat, too much salt, not enough protein... such are the complaints often made regarding vegetarian products in the savoury applications market. How can we help manufacturers resolve these issues? By formulating recipes based on naturally sourced ingredients that combine functional and nutritional qualities!


Thanks to their fat-mimicking properties, our FIBRULINE™ XL chicory root fibres will play a key role in formulating products that have a naturally low or reduced fat content. For their part, our PISANE™ M9 pea proteins will allow manufacturers to increase the protein content in their products while ensuring excellent organoleptic quality and a balanced nutrient profile... Tasty, healthy products: everything we need!

COSUCRA Board appoints Eric Bosly as new CEO

Read this

choose your language

Les applications salées

Que ce soit pour les secteurs végétariens, des accompagnements ou encore des produits élaborés de viande, les innovations ne manquent pas pour les applications salées. Les tendances et les besoins des consommateurs évoluent constamment, posant ainsi de nouvelles problématiques pour les industriels. Mais bonne nouvelle : nos gammes d’ingrédients COSUCRA conviennent à toutes ces problématiques, aussi diverses soient-elles !

 

Le marché de la viande

Un marché en déclin ?

De mieux en mieux informés et conscients des nombreuses crises alimentaires, environnementales et santé apparues ces dernières années et de leurs conséquences, les consommateurs changent petit à petit leurs préférences et habitudes alimentaires. Impact environnemental, effet sur la santé… Le marché de la viande est soumis à la pression de ce changement de mentalité.

 

tous les groupes concernés

Ce que font les amateurs de viande américains pour protéger la planète :

  • 61 % réduisent leur consommation de viande ;
  • 43 % remplacent les protéines issues de la viande par des alternatives végétales ;
  • 22 % se tournent vers le végétarisme.


*% des consommateurs américains qui sont prêts à changer leurs habitudes pour des raisons environnementales.

 

 

Nous pourrions croire qu’avec ces prises de conscience, le secteur de la viande est en déclin et ne présente plus de potentiel. Cependant, la population globale ne cesse de grandir. De plus en plus de personnes ont, et auront, accès à la viande, ce qui n’a pas toujours été le cas jusqu’ici. Certes, le secteur n’est plus aussi dynamique que pour d’autres applications salées, mais il maintient une présence non-négligeable sur le marché alimentaire.

 

LES TENDANCES DU MARCHÉ DE LA VIANDE

Pour que le marché de la viande continue à répondre aux attentes des consommateurs, il est important de se pencher sur quelques tendances actuelles qui rythment les applications salées :

Des produits à destination des enfants

La nouvelle génération de parents est très attentive à l’alimentation de leurs enfants. Ils recherchent un équilibre entre alimentation saine et plaisir. Les enfants sont sensibles aux applications salées ayant des formes particulières, comme par exemple celles de leurs héros préférés.

Afin de garantir une forme ludique pendant le process et la cuisson aux produits de viandes, les industriels pourront se tourner vers des solutions fonctionnelles comme SWELITE™ C. 


Réduction de matière grasse

Cette tendance parmi les applications salées n’est pas à négliger. La demande est là, pourtant l’offre suit peu. Dénoncé pour sa teneur en graisses saturées, le secteur de la viande doit lutter contre cette image et proposer ainsi des alternatives réduites en matières grasses. La réduction de matière grasse dans les produits élaborés de viande ? C’est possible, grâce à l’ajout de la fibre de chicorée FIBRULINE™ XL. Cette fibre à longues chaines peut créer un gel au contact de l’eau qui donne une sensation de gras en bouche. En réduisant les quantités de matières grasses dans une recette et en ajoutant cette fibre de chicorée, la sensation et le profil nutritionnel de cette application salée seront ainsi rééquilibrés. Objectif atteint !

LES ALTERNATIVES AUX PROTÉINES ANIMALES

Il s’agit ici sans conteste d’un marché en plein essor. Des États-Unis aux pays asiatiques, les consommateurs aux quatre coins du monde connaissent – et cherchent toujours plus – les alternatives à la viande, au poisson et aux œufs.

À l’origine très limitée, l’offre d’alternatives aux protéines animales se diversifie de plus en plus : goût, texture, format, au rayon frais ou surgelé… Chez COSUCRA, l’ensemble de nos ingrédients issus du pois et de la chicorée ont un rôle essentiel à jouer pour permettre aux consommateurs de vivre une véritable expérience alimentaire avec cette nouvelle génération de produits !

 

LE SAVIEZ-VOUS ?

En 2040, il est estimé que le marché mondial des alternatives à la viande représentera environ 60 % du marché salé global.


UN PRODUIT BON POUR LES PAPILLES !

La texture, un des principaux challenges pour les alternatives aux produits de viande ou de poisson. Pour une partie du marché, le consommateur attend qu’elle imite les fibres animales et la sensation que l’on a lorsque l’on croque dans un burger ou des nuggets : jutosité, mâche, élasticité, effet de la matière grasse…

Pour répondre à ces défis de taille, la protéine de pois PISANE™, la fibre de pois SWELITE™ et l’amidon de pois NASTAR™ sont les solutions idéales. Avec ces ingrédients, vous pourrez formuler des produits d’une grande qualité organoleptique… Autrement dit, des produits tout aussi agréables à manger !


UN PRODUIT BON POUR LA PLANÈTE

La durabilité est devenue le centre de nos préoccupations en tant que citoyens et reste un des facteurs clé de conversion au flexitarisme et végétarisme. Ces nouveaux types de consommateurs sont très informés sur les pratiques agricoles, les bienfaits des protéines végétales, la composition des produits dans les rayons…

Nos ingrédients issus du pois et de la chicorée ont tous les attributs nécessaires : impact sur le climat, bien-être animal, utilisation de nos ressources naturelles ou encore alimentation saine… Chez COSUCRA, il nous tient à cœur de répondre à chacune de ces préoccupations !


LE SAVIEZ-VOUS ?

Nous utilisons environ neuf fois moins d’énergie primaire pour produire 1 kg de protéine de pois que pour produire 1 kg de protéine animale (bœuf). Bonne nouvelle, non ?


UN PRODUIT BON POUR LA SANTÉ

Trop de matières grasses saturées, trop de sel, manque de protéines… voilà ce que l’on reproche fréquemment aux les produits végétariens sur le marché des application salées. Comment aider les industriels à adresser ces sujets ? En formulant des recettes avec des ingrédients d’origine naturelle qui combinent qualités fonctionnelles et nutritionnelles !

Grâce à leurs propriétés d'imitation de la matière grasse, nos fibres de racine de chicorée FIBRULINE™ XL seront essentielles à la conception de produits naturellement pauvres ou réduits en matières grasses. De leur côté, nos protéines de pois PISANE™ M9 permettront aux industriels d’augmenter la teneur en protéines dans leurs produits tout en assurant une excellente qualité organoleptique et un profil nutritionnel équilibré… Du goût, du sain, tout ce dont on a besoin !

Nouveau partenariat avec la SWDE

Découvrez l'article

choose your language